Cream Lip Stain – Sephora Collection Review in Pink Souffle& African Violet

Hey beauties!

It’s been hard to post the last couple of days! I’ve been so lethargic, and I don’t wanna be a mom, or a girlfriend, or a beauty blogger, or even a human being. I’ve been avoiding pretty much every and all duties I possibly can because I have such a deep desire to lay in my bed for the rest of my life right now! All I can say is that I hope it passes soon!

That being said, we did go get our taxes done yesterday, and thank goodness because I hate tax season- it’s just such a mess, and if I owe people money, I don’t want a reminder. I just want them to forget I exist while I curl up into a burrito of sadness. BUT, the good thing about tax season is that so far, we’ve always got a return, and of course, that means shopping, and everyone knows where I’m going to hit up first! Sephora! I looked around and surprisingly there wasn’t a whole ton of stuff that I really wanted, but I’m always on the look out for new lippies! You can never have enough lip colours!

I’ve been hearing such good things about Sephora’s Cream Lip Stains, and so I HAD to try them out! I’ve gone in quite a few times and done swatches, but I’m always hesitant when it comes to matte lippies because my lips are already so dry, but thing time I decided a) I couldn’t walk out empty handed, and b) I needed to try them because I found the 2 most gorgeous colours that I wanted in and around my mouth! (Not in, just around!)

2015-03-04 17.13.06
Pink Souffle

Oh. My. God!

First, for $16 these could pretty much be drugstore, but with absolutely amazing quality! I was so impressed; I even compared them to my Too Faced Melted, and spoiler alert, I like them better! That’s so hard to say because I love the Too Faced Melted collection, and I want them all, but in terms of the finish, the texture, and how fast they matte, Sephora is better in every category!

Doing this blog review I’ve learned a few things: first, when I’m tired and lazy, I do horrible lip swatches, but I can’t be bothered because at least I finally got this up and coming. Second, having a cranky and sick 1 year old makes it nearly impossible to do anything when it comes to makeup and blogging unless he’s up in your grill or sitting on your lap (and farting on me, I might add)! None the less, I’m here, and here is this lovely review!

On to the basics!

It is matte, which I love! Matte lipsticks are just so important to me right now, that this wouldn’t have been so great to me if it wasn’t matte! It also isn’t drying, which is amazing… I can’t stand dry, cracking lips. Ugh. I find it a bit sticky, which isn’t so bad, but of course might not be great for others, so I thought I’d mention it. They are amazingly pigmented, and a little goes a long way. I love the colour selection! The price couldn’t be sweeter, (well it could but I don’t think they’ll lower it so this is perfect!) for $16 each, I can already tell they’re long lasting, pretty water proof, and you don’t have to use a lot, so they’ll last awhile. These are all things to consider when thinking about a price point, and this one is such a steal!

2015-03-04 17.13.35
African Violet

I swatched African Violet against Melted Violet and I was blown away by the results. Verdict? Sephora Cream Lip Stains dry faster, which leads to less mess on your face, dry matte, which Too Faced also does, but I know that Too Faced is very drying, and I like the applicator better for the Cream Lip Stains as well, which of course is a doe-foot applicator which is very flexible, which is nice for application in tighter areas, too. I couldn’t believe that these were so great, especially because I paid $25 for my Too Faced Melted, and only $16 for Sephora’s Cream Lip Stain… $9 less, for a better product! Don’t get me wrong, I still absolutely love Too Faced, and I’ll probably buy the rest of the Melted collection eventually, but of course not before I buy the rest of the Sephora collection because these are to die for!

I can’t talk highly enough of these, and I think if I continue I’ll ramble on and on and tell you the same thing over and over, but the point is, it’s matte, it dries fairly fast, and the texture is such a nice fluffly creamy heavenly texture! They’re worth every penny, and for $16, they’re such a steal! Go get you some!

I swatched them of course against each other, and against the Too Faced Melted, and Melted feathered and bled, where as the Sephora collection didn’t! So worth it! Running my finger along the swatch on my hand once it’s dried, it doesn’t budge an inch (also, trying to get it off my hand in Sephora after swatching EVERY SINGLE ONE was a nightmare, so they’re pretty resilient!)

2015-03-04 17.15.12
Top – Sephora’s Pink Souffle, Bottom – Too Faced Melted Violet; with flash
2015-03-04 17.15.33
Top – Sephora’s Pink Souffle, Bottom – Too Faced Melted Violet; no flash

As you can see, the colours aren’t far off, but Sephora’s is definitely more matte, and this was seconds after I swatch it. Plus, it’s a more wearable colour. Love it!

Moral of the story, go get you some! I hope this helps one of my fellow beauties to get out there and go buy one (or all) of these gorgeous shades! They’re so worth it, and definitely on my list!

xo, as always

Belshy!

2015-03-04 17.14.13
Top – African Violet, Bottom – Pink Souffle; no flash
2015-03-04 17.13.55
Top – African Violet, Bottom – Pink Souffle; with flash

Published by

Belshy

19. Canadian. Free spirit. Mother.

Leave a comment